December Daily® Day 1-8

img_1450

Hello December – or should I say, how is it December 13th already?? I am making my way through my December Daily® album and LOVING it as always. Are you new to December Daily®? Check out Ali Edwards blog here for all the details! Basically, it is a daily memory keeping album created for the month of December (or the days leading up to Christmas, at least) and the idea is to document one story per day. This will be my 9th year (!!!) participating in this project and I still love it so very much.

I have been getting so much inspiration this year from the December Daily® Facebook group as well as on instagram, search #decemberdaily  for lots of fun ideas.

img_1452

For my cover page I got my daughter to draw me a picture of a Christmas tree (see original idea here) I LOVE how it turned out – and since she is all about drawing right now it was something she was more than happy to do.

img_1454

I went a little crazy this year and ordered THREE of the kits available through Ali Edwards shop. I am using the Main kit, the Jasmine Jones kit and the Paislee Press kit for the album this year – with some older products mixed in too. I am also using some of the digital products and really love playing with those. The calendar page came from the Jasmine Jones kit, and I used an older digital product (found here) for my intentions or reason why page.

img_1455

December 1st | I told the story of my daughter getting her advent calendar – her elf ‘Purple’ brought it to her this morning. I used a digital layered template (found here) for the left side, printed and added a few physical products and the right side is a 12 pocket 2×2 page protector with one row trimmed off. I cut up some of the packaging from her advent calendar to use in some of the pockets. Side note: the advent calendar is from Playmobil and my daughter has loved it this year (and one last year too).

img_1456

December 2nd | I told a story about going to see a Christmas play with our best friends. I cut up part of the program for the top pockets on the left side and just slipped in the photos and some hand written journaling on the right.

img_1474

img_1458

December 3rd | I took some photos of my daughter writing (and colouring) her letter for Santa, I typed up my story and just printed it right on the photo – printed at 6×8. Then I wrote my own little letter and added it to a 3×4 pocket.

img_1459

December 4th | The story of getting our Christmas tree. We had so much fun going with friends to a tree lot and cutting down our tree. We definitely will be doing this again. I used another digital layered template to create the left side (found here) and also added some word art. On the left side I printed a photo big and created a flip open page – love how it turned out.

img_1489

img_1463

The left side is the back of the flip open page  – another favourite photo from picking out our tree. I just punched holes right into the picture and put it directly into the album.

December 5th| The left is another super simple page. I snapped a photo of my table and my friend, we were working on our albums together. Then I hand wrote five things about that day and slipped in a transparency from the Paislee Press kit.

img_1464

December 6th | We decorated our tree. The right side is a photo I printed at 3×8 and slipped in a pocket and just added some stamping on the number 6.  On the left I used a 4×6 photo with some phrase stickers and the top is the back of the transparency from the previous day and a decorative journal card from the Jasmine Jones kit. I really wanted to use that card for the day we decorated our tree, but didn’t have any space for my story so I created a pocket and added my journaling inside.

img_1473

img_1465

December 7th | I loved the idea of choosing a day to be grateful for all the good things in my life so I did this day 7. I used a digital layered template with the prompts already on it and just hand wrote a list of things I am thankful for. I used a tag from last year’s kit for the date.

The right side is a selfie that I took of me and my daughter that day, paired with a gratitude card from the Jasmine Jones kit.

img_1469

I just added some ribbon and washi tape (from last year) to the back of the tag.

img_1466-1

December 8th | I attended a work party  this day so added the story to the Dear Santa card from the main kit. I Just covered the dear Santa and love from parts with a rubber tag and a word sticker (I saw someone else do this in the Facebook group and thought it looked great). (I blurred out the faces of my coworkers to protect their privacy).

img_1467

The right side is a 4 3×4 pocket page that I trimmed down. The number 8 is from last year’s main kit. I had one more photo to include so I used that great holiday party time card from the Jasmine Jones kit and created a flip up.

And that’s it so far…

I am absolutely loving this project (always) and am so thankful that it helps me to appreciate and enjoy the season so much more.

 

 

 

One thought on “December Daily® Day 1-8

Leave a Reply

